Baskin Engineering Internal Scholarship Opportunities

The following list outlines scholarship opportunities and academic awards for which current students of the Baskin School of Engineering are eligible.


Amy Beth Snader Memorial Scholarship

The Amy Beth Snader Memorial Scholarship was established in 1992 in honor of its namesake, an alumna of UC Santa Cruz in Computer and Information Sciences. Incoming first-year students who are interested in pursuing a degree in the Baskin School of Engineering — both women and men, with academic merit and financial need — are welcome to apply. This is a four-year scholarship that will be issued to deserving students in the Engineering fields who exhibit academic excellence and evidence of creativity and originality. If you will be attending UCSC as a first-year frosh you may apply for this scholarship. Find more information and the application.


Baskin Endowed Scholarship

The Baskin Endowed Scholarship awards qualified students based on academic merit and financial need.


Robert H. Bisno Endowed Scholarship

The expendable distribution of the Robert H. Bisno Endowed Scholarship shall be used to provide monetary assistance to undergraduate students in the Baskin School of Engineering at UC Santa Cruz to help relieve the cost of attendance. The recipient must be a proposed or declared engineering major and show intent to complete the degree. Preference will be given to students showing financial need. Please apply if you meet the required criteria mentioned above. Deadline to apply for Fall 2022 is July 1, 2022. 


Huffman Prize

The Huffman Prize honors the memory and the legacy of its namesake – David A. Huffman (1925-1999), Computer Science Professor Emeritus. Huffman was a distinguished member of the UC Santa Cruz faculty and one of the founders of the first department in what is now the Jack Baskin School of Engineering. The Prize is awarded annually to a Baskin School of Engineering graduating senior whose academic career at UCSC exhibits extraordinary creativity, depth of inquiry, and overall excellence. Seniors apply by submitting a personal statement, at least one letter of reference from faculty, and documentation of noteworthy projects or unusual accomplishments. Recipients are selected by a faculty committee. Deadline for submitting applications for the academic year 2020-2021 was April 15, 2021.


David S. Lee Scholarship

The David S. Lee Scholarship recognizes UCSC Baskin School of Engineering undergraduate students for their achievements and the diverse experiences that they bring into the engineering community. David S. Lee served as a member of the UC Board of Regents from 1994 to 2006. Two of his three children are alumni of UCSC. Students with academic merit and financial need apply online for this competitive award. Previous recipients who are still enrolled in BSOE majors may re-apply. The amount of this annual award varies (typically 1-4 awards ranging from $1,000 to $2,000). Deadline for submitting applications for the 2020-2021 academic year was April 15, 2021.


Marilyn C. Davis Scholarship for Re-Entry Women Majoring In Natural Sciences

This endowed scholarship fund was established by a re-entry woman who received undergraduate and graduate science degrees at UCSC in memory of her mother, who herself was a re-entry student after raising five children. Scholarships ranging from $500 to $1,000 are available to UCSC re-entry women (undergraduates who are 25 and older; graduate students who are 29 and older) who are majoring in the sciences. The scholarship provides funding either for professional development or for immediate, urgent financial need related to a student’s education.

Professional development fund: This supports professional development activities in the sciences, including (but not limited to) costs associated with thesis preparation, field research, publication of an article, presenting a paper at a conference, applying to graduate programs, traveling to visit graduate programs, or interviewing for jobs. Awards may be used for direct costs of these activities or for other indirect associated expenses such as child care and wardrobe.

For questions, please contact Jannet Ceja at 831-459-2552 or email


Patrick Mantey Undergraduate Leadership Award

The Patrick Mantey Undergraduate Leadership Award recognizes a Baskin School of Engineering undergraduate student who demonstrates outstanding leadership abilities and exhibits academic merit. Students, whose contributions represent the very best attributes and accomplishments in the community, are nominated by faculty (students do not apply). This award was established to honor Professor Patrick E. Mantey, founding Dean of the Jack Baskin School of Engineering, in recognition of his leadership and service in helping establish engineering at UC Santa Cruz. Baskin Engineering faculty nominate students for this award. The deadline for faculty to make their nominations was April 15, 2021.


Robert H. Triebig Memorial Scholarship

The Robert H. Triebig Memorial Scholarship recognizes undergraduate students studying electrical engineering. The scholarship was established in 1997 by Elsie (Vermont) Triebig in honor of her late husband, Robert H. Triebig, who had worked for 47 years as an electrical engineer. Through this scholarship, the Triebig family hopes to help many other individuals reach their dream of becoming an electrical engineer. Proposed and declared Electrical Engineering students may apply. Deadline for submitting applications for the 2020-21 academic year was April 15, 2021.


Travel Scholarships

The School of Engineering Undergraduate Advising Office awards a quarterly travel scholarship that reimburse students for travel related expenses used in attending Engineering Specific events. The scholarships are awarded based on academic merit.


Deans’ and Chancellor’s Undergraduate Awards, UC Santa Cruz

The Deans’, Chancellor’s, and Steck Awards recognize exceptional achievement in research projects or other creative activities. Application forms are available in early spring from offices of the Chancellor, Divisions, Departments, and Colleges. Winners are honored at the Undergraduate Academic Awards ceremony in June that culminates the UCSC annual Student Achievement Week.


Deans’ Undergraduate Award

In late spring, fifty undergraduate students, ten from each of the five academic divisions, receive the Dean’s Award of $100 for outstanding achievement in their division. Recipients are considered for the Chancellor’s Award.


Chancellor’s Undergraduate Award

From the Deans' Award recipient list, the Chancellor’s Award recognizes the top three students from each division. These students are given an additional $500 award. Recipients are considered for the Steck Award.


Steck Award

The Steck Award recognizes what they feel is the most outstanding research project chosen from the fifteen Chancellor Awardees. The student recipient receives an additional $1,000. In addition, his or her senior thesis/research project is bound and copies are given to the student, the research supervisor, UC Santa Cruz Library, and the Steck family, whose generous contributions have made this award possible.


More Information

For information on other UCSC scholarships, plus a vast number of private scholarships, visit the campus website at:

For more information about academic scholarships and prestigious award programs please visit: